KTM 690 Oryx or Not ?

Posted: January 24, 2012 in General
Tags: , ,

I have to say, I am getting slightly worried now. About 3 months ago, I paid a R20,000 deposit to KTM Cape Town to build me one of their KTM 690 Oryx bikes so that I can pick it up once I am there on holiday. Since then, the guys at KTM Cape Town asked me to pay in full “to help their cashflow” ….  R105,000 in total, maybe my mistake ?

Well, since I have paid in full, everything has gone a little quiet. They seem to be unresponsive to emails and even if they reply, they seem very vague as to whether they will be able to have the motorcycle ready for collection in time. I found out last week, that they have everything except the tank kit, which makes me believe they never ordered the stuff months ago when they said they did or they used my stuff for someone else. I have since sent them another email asking whether they have received all my bits and pieces, but again, silence …

I will be arriving in Cape Town in around 2 weeks from now, which is why I am a little concerned, if they couldn’t get the stuff in the 3 months since I paid for it, what are the chances they will have it and build the bike in 2 weeks ??

Anyway, I will give them the benefit of the doubt. If it’s not ready, I will be very disappointed to say the least…

Comments
  1. Ben says:

    Gotta be honest, I used to live in SA for work. KTM Cape Town dont have a very good reputation, the locals I know used to go nearly 400km east, to go to KTM George, rather than deal with them. I was based in Johannesburg, and had the dubious pleasure of dealing with KTM Pro Action… a very similar story im afraid, more than happy to take your money, but aftercare and all the other service was pitiful. Pretty much a standing joke amongst riders in the Joburg area.

    I sold my 2 stroke through them when i left to return to Uk and it took 6 months to get the money and any flow of information, after numerous phone calls and escalating emails.

    South Africa is not generally famous for it’s customer service, but I have been left with a sour taste, from SA KTM dealers.. although im sure there are some good ones, the few have ruined it for the many, in my opinion.

    Good luck with getting your bike built, I hope it turns out well.

    • m0ng00se says:

      Thanks Ben .. lets see how it goes. In two weeks I will know if I am a happy chappy or not. Gonna give them a call tomorrow and see what they say !

Leave a Reply

